PFAS in Kotka's tap water: sum of 20 PFAS reported as not detected

Last PFAS check: · Source: Ruokavirasto / Syke

PFAS in drinking water

sum of 20 PFAS reported as not detected

PFAS-4 not published here yet

More about this result

PFAS-4 is not published for this supply area

Sum of 20 PFAS reported as not detected (sampled 15 February 2026); the laboratory did not state its reporting limit.

Values from Haapasaaren Osakaskunta, one of 10 supply areas serving Kotka; the others are in the table.

The four EFSA compounds (PFOA, PFOS, PFNA, PFHxS) are not reported separately, so the 4 ng/L health benchmark and this site's 0.5 ng/L benchmark cannot be checked.

PFAS-20 monitoring is mandatory since 12 January 2026; 158 of 287 municipalities have a published result so far.

The four main PFAS are not published here. Sign up below and we will tell you when they are.

Last PFAS test
15 February 2026
Water supplier
Kymen Vesi Oy, Länsi-Kymin Vesihuolto-osuuskunta, Tavastilan Vesihuolto-osuuskunta, Kymin Vesihuolto-osuuskunta, Ylänummen vesiosuuskunta ja 4 muuta toimijaa

In Kotka, the latest published PFAS-20 result (sampled 15 February 2026) is reported as not detected; the laboratory did not state its reporting limit. The EU legal limit is 100 ng/L. The four EFSA compounds (PFAS-4) are not itemised, so this water cannot be compared with the 0.5 ng/L health benchmark used by pfasnearme. Source: Ruokavirasto (VATI) / Suomen ympäristökeskus Syke, Juomavesidirektiivi-rajapinta, CC BY 4.0, data retrieved 28 September 2026.

Details and sources
Water supplier: Kymen Vesi Oy, Länsi-Kymin Vesihuolto-osuuskunta, Tavastilan Vesihuolto-osuuskunta, Kymin Vesihuolto-osuuskunta, Ylänummen vesiosuuskunta ja 4 muuta toimijaa Latest water check: 15 September 2026 Data updated on

What the latest check found

The authorities have not published an overall verdict for this water.

Values to watch

These results are close to their legal limit, or over it.

One routine sample was outside a limit: Iron 300 µg/L on 25 November 2025 (limit ≤ 200 µg/L). This is a single result, not an official verdict on the supply.

What was tested Value Limit Status
Fluoride 1.36 mg/L ≤ 1.5 mg/L within the limit
Iron 300 µg/L ≤ 200 µg/L over the limit
See all 25 test results
What was tested Value Limit Status
Nitrate 2 mg/L ≤ 50 mg/L within the limit
Nitrite 0.068 mg/L ≤ 0.5 mg/L within the limit
Lead <2 µg/L ≤ 10 µg/L within the limit
Copper 0.03 mg/L ≤ 2 mg/L within the limit
Nickel <2 µg/L ≤ 20 µg/L within the limit
Arsenic <3 µg/L ≤ 10 µg/L within the limit
Cadmium <0.2 µg/L ≤ 5 µg/L within the limit
Chromium <0.8 µg/L ≤ 50 µg/L within the limit
Uranium <9 µg/L ≤ 30 µg/L within the limit
Fluoride 1.36 mg/L ≤ 1.5 mg/L within the limit
Escherichia coli 0 n/(100mL) ≤ 0 n/(100mL) within the limit
Enterococci 0 n/(100mL) ≤ 0 n/(100mL) within the limit
Coliform bacteria 0 n/(100mL) ≤ 0 n/(100mL) within the limit
Clostridium perfringens 0 n/(100mL) ≤ 0 n/(100mL) within the limit
pH 7 6.5–9.5 pH within the limit
Water hardness 0.053 mmol/L no limit for reference
Electrical conductivity 423.7 µS/cm ≤ 2,500 µS/cm within the limit
Chloride 130 mg/L ≤ 250 mg/L within the limit
Sulphate <1 mg/L ≤ 250 mg/L within the limit
Sodium 74 mg/L ≤ 200 mg/L within the limit
Iron 300 µg/L ≤ 200 µg/L over the limit
Manganese 37 µg/L ≤ 50 µg/L within the limit
Aluminium 55 µg/L ≤ 200 µg/L within the limit
Ammonium 0.1912 mg/L ≤ 0.5 mg/L within the limit
Calcium 1 mg/L no limit for reference

Frequently asked questions

Is tap water in Kotka safe to drink?

The authorities have not published an overall verdict for this water. One routine sample was outside a limit: Iron 300 µg/L on 25 November 2025 (limit ≤ 200 µg/L). This is a single result, not an official verdict on the supply. The four EFSA compounds (PFAS-4) are not itemised, so this water cannot be compared with the 0.5 ng/L health benchmark used by pfasnearme.

How high are PFAS levels in Kotka's drinking water?

At the latest check the total of 20 PFAS ("forever chemicals") was reported as not detected; the laboratory did not state its reporting limit. The EU limit is 100 ng/L. (below the EU limit)

Which PFAS limits apply in Finland?

Finland applies decree STM 1352/2015 of the Ministry of Social Affairs and Health as amended by 2/2023: "PFAS-aineiden summa" (sum of 20 PFAS) at most 0.10 µg/l, that is 100 ng/L, applied from 12 January 2026. There is no national PFAS-4 limit; Sweden applies 4 ng/L. This site's 0.5 ng/L benchmark is stricter than both.

How hard is the water in Kotka?

The water hardness in Kotka is 0.1 mmol/L (soft). This mainly matters for household appliances and detergent dosing, not for health.

Where does this data come from?

All values come from official publications: Ruokavirasto (VATI) / Suomen ympäristökeskus Syke, Juomavesidirektiivi-rajapinta. Retrieved on 28 September 2026.

Same water network

Same distribution network as Kotka, so in principle the same water.

Nearby cities

The closest to Kotka on this site.

Data source

Ruokavirasto (VATI) / Suomen ympäristökeskus Syke, Juomavesidirektiivi-rajapinta
https://rajapinnat.ymparisto.fi/api/juomavesidirektiivi-vati/swagger/v1/swagger.json
License
CC BY 4.0
Retrieved
28 September 2026
Supply networks
Kymen Vesi Oy, Länsi-Kymin vesihuolto-osuuskunta, Tavastilan vesihuolto-osuuskunta, Haapasaaren Osakaskunta, Kymin vesihuolto-osuuskunta, Ylänummen vesiosuuskunta, Laajakosken vesihuolto-osuuskunta, Hurukselan vesihuolto-osuuskunta, Kaarniemen vesiosuuskunta, Juurikorven Vesihuolto-osuuskunta

Lähde: Ruokavirasto (VATI) / Suomen ympäristökeskus Syke, Juomavesidirektiivi-rajapinta, CC BY 4.0, haettu 2026-09-28. Kunnassa on 10 vedenjakelualuetta VATI-rekisterissä; kaikki on lueteltu sivulla. Sivun PFAS-luku on alueelta "Haapasaaren Osakaskunta" (uusin PFAS-tulos kunnan 1 PFAS-tuloksesta); muut alueet ovat taulukossa. PFAS-yhdisteiden summan (20 yhdistettä) raja-arvo on 0,10 µg/l (STM 1352/2015, muutos 2/2023, sovellettu 12.1.2026 alkaen). Neljän EFSA-yhdisteen summaa (PFAS-4) ei julkaista. Tulos "0" tai "Ei todettu" tarkoittaa, ettei PFAS-yhdisteitä havaittu; laboratorio ei ilmoittanut määritysrajaa. Rajapinta julkaisee kunkin muuttujan uusimman tuloksen; taulukon arvo on korkein kunnan alueilta viimeisten 24 kuukauden aikana julkaistu tulos (vanhempi tulos vain, jos uudempaa ei ole), alue on merkitty riville.

This site is a data project, not an official source. If in doubt, check with your water supplier or local authority.