PFAS in the drinking water of Fleetwood Boro Water System: none of the four main PFAS detected, each below the 3 to 4 ng/L reporting limit
Last PFAS check: · Source: EPA UCMR 5
PFAS in drinking water
No PFAS detected
UCMR 5 reports nothing below its 3 to 4 ng/L reporting limits, which sit above the 0.5 ng/L benchmark. Water above the benchmark but below the reporting limits would pass this test unnoticed.
0.5 ng/L is our benchmark, not an official limit. It uses the same EFSA method as the Swedish, Danish and Dutch limits, with stricter safety choices. It's meant as a yearly average. The comparison above uses the latest check.
checked on August 21, 2023
Sampled on August 21, 2023 at Willow Rd Entry Point (WILLOW ROAD). It has the newest complete sample of the system's 3 entry points. Samples are taken at the entry point to the distribution system, not at your tap.
US legal limit: 4.0 ng/L federal MCL for PFOA and PFOS
- PFOA below the 4 ng/L reporting limit below the federal MCL
- PFOS below the 4 ng/L reporting limit below the federal MCL
Applies from April 2029, as a running annual average per sampling point. UCMR 5 results do not indicate compliance or noncompliance with the PFAS drinking water standards.
Other regulated PFAS: 10 ng/L MCLs and the Hazard Index. PFHxS below the 3 ng/L reporting limit, PFNA below the 4 ng/L reporting limit, HFPO-DA below the 5 ng/L reporting limit; Hazard Index (PFHxS, PFNA, HFPO-DA, PFBS): not computable from UCMR 5: none of its four compounds was quantified, and the reporting limits alone would add up to 1.2. EPA proposed on May 20, 2026 to rescind the PFHxS, PFNA, HFPO-DA MCLs and the Hazard Index; no final rule had been published when this page's regulation data was retrieved (September 19, 2026).
More about this result
The lab detects each of the four substances from 3 to 4 ng/L upward. None reached that limit, so their total is below 15 ng/L rather than zero.
UCMR 5 measures 29 PFAS one by one and publishes no EU-style total; this page shows the PFAS-4 sum and each compound.
29 PFAS (see each substance)
| PFAS substance | Value |
|---|---|
| PFOA | below the 4 ng/L reporting limit |
| PFOS | below the 4 ng/L reporting limit |
| PFHxS | below the 3 ng/L reporting limit |
| PFNA | below the 4 ng/L reporting limit |
| HFPO-DA | below the 5 ng/L reporting limit |
| PFBS | below the 3 ng/L reporting limit |
| 11Cl-PF3OUdS | below the 5 ng/L reporting limit |
| 4:2 FTS | below the 3 ng/L reporting limit |
| 6:2 FTS | below the 5 ng/L reporting limit |
| 8:2 FTS | below the 5 ng/L reporting limit |
| 9Cl-PF3ONS | below the 2 ng/L reporting limit |
| ADONA | below the 3 ng/L reporting limit |
| NEtFOSAA | below the 5 ng/L reporting limit |
| NFDHA | below the 20 ng/L reporting limit |
| NMeFOSAA | below the 6 ng/L reporting limit |
| PFBA | below the 5 ng/L reporting limit |
| PFDA | below the 3 ng/L reporting limit |
| PFDoA | below the 3 ng/L reporting limit |
| PFEESA | below the 3 ng/L reporting limit |
| PFHpA | below the 3 ng/L reporting limit |
| PFHpS | below the 3 ng/L reporting limit |
| PFHxA | below the 3 ng/L reporting limit |
| PFMBA | below the 3 ng/L reporting limit |
| PFMPA | below the 4 ng/L reporting limit |
| PFPeA | below the 3 ng/L reporting limit |
| PFPeS | below the 4 ng/L reporting limit |
| PFTA | below the 8 ng/L reporting limit |
| PFTrDA | below the 7 ng/L reporting limit |
| PFUnA | below the 2 ng/L reporting limit |
None found above the 3 to 4 ng/L reporting limits. Every compound is listed in the details below.
Get notified when alerts open for Fleetwood Boro Water System
Email alerts for US water systems start once our US postal address is published (CAN-SPAM). We collect nothing here yet; the report for Fleetwood Boro Water System on this page is updated as new results are published.
- Federal MCL, PFOA and PFOS (each)
- 4.0 ng/L PFOA and PFOS not above it at the headline sample; applies from April 2029
- Latest UCMR 5 sample
- August 21, 2023 entry-point sample, not your tap
- EPA system ID (PWSID)
- PA3060029
Details and sources
At Fleetwood Boro Water System (Pennsylvania), none of the four most closely watched PFAS (PFAS-4) was detected in the latest UCMR 5 entry-point sample on August 21, 2023 at Willow Rd Entry Point (WILLOW ROAD): each compound was below the 3 to 4 ng/L reporting limit. UCMR 5 reports nothing below those limits, so the test cannot say whether the water is above or below the 0.5 ng/L health benchmark used by pfasnearme. PFOA below the 4 ng/L reporting limit and PFOS below the 4 ng/L reporting limit, neither above the 4.0 ng/L federal MCL for PFOA and PFOS that systems must meet from April 2029. Across 6 UCMR 5 sampling events since February 6, 2023, no PFAS-4 compound was quantified at any entry point (each result below the 3 to 4 ng/L reporting limit). Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Fifth Unregulated Contaminant Monitoring Rule (UCMR 5) occurrence data, final dataset (August 2026), public domain.
PFAS over time in Fleetwood Boro Water System
6 UCMR 5 sampling events since February 6, 2023, as published by EPA. Samples come from 3 entry points; the trend refers to Willow Rd Entry Point (WILLOW ROAD).
| Date | PFAS-4 | Entry point |
|---|---|---|
| < 15 ng/L | Willow Rd Entry Point (WILLOW ROAD) | |
| < 15 ng/L | Well 13 Sink Tap (WELL #13 SINK TAP) | |
| < 15 ng/L | Well 15 Sink Tap (WELL #15 SINK TAP) | |
| < 15 ng/L | Willow Rd Entry Point (WILLOW ROAD) | |
| < 15 ng/L | Well 13 Sink Tap (WELL #13 SINK TAP) | |
| < 15 ng/L | Well 15 Sink Tap (WELL #15 SINK TAP) |
A value preceded by "<" means no PFAS-4 compound was quantified, the figure being the sum of the four UCMR 5 reporting limits. Sums with a compound below the 3 to 4 ng/L reporting limit are lower bounds. How to read a PFAS result
Compliance status
UCMR 5 results do not indicate compliance or noncompliance with the PFAS drinking water standards. UCMR 5 is a national monitoring survey; the system's compliance record and its annual Consumer Confidence Report come from the state agency and EPA's SDWIS.
See all 4 test results
| What was tested | Value | Limit | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| PFAS Hazard Index (US EPA) | < 1.2 (index; nothing quantified) | MCL (from April 2029): 1 | not computable |
| PFAS-4 (PFOA + PFOS + PFNA + PFHxS) · Well 13 Sink Tap (WELL #13 SINK TAP) · maximum | below the 15 ng/L reporting limit | no MCL for the sum; MCL (from April 2029) 4.0 ng/L for PFOA and for PFOS | not detected |
| PFAS-4 (PFOA + PFOS + PFNA + PFHxS) · Well 15 Sink Tap (WELL #15 SINK TAP) · maximum | below the 15 ng/L reporting limit | no MCL for the sum; MCL (from April 2029) 4.0 ng/L for PFOA and for PFOS | not detected |
| Lithium · UCMR 5, for reference | below the 9 µg/L reporting limit | no MCL | for reference |
Frequently asked questions
Is the tap water in Fleetwood Boro Water System safe to drink?
In the latest UCMR 5 entry-point sample on August 21, 2023, none of the four most closely watched PFAS was detected: each was below the 3 to 4 ng/L reporting limit. That is below the 4.0 ng/L federal MCL for PFOA and PFOS, but the test cannot tell whether the water is above or below the 0.5 ng/L benchmark pfasnearme uses. EPA set the maximum contaminant level goal (MCLG) for PFOA and PFOS at zero because there is no level without risk. UCMR 5 results do not indicate compliance or noncompliance with the PFAS drinking water standards, and this site reports published measurements without judging health risk. This is not medical advice. If you are concerned, talk to your water system or your doctor.
What is UCMR 5 and why do the results say "below the reporting limit"?
The Fifth Unregulated Contaminant Monitoring Rule (UCMR 5) had every large US water system and a sample of small ones test 29 PFAS and lithium between 2023 and 2025, at each entry point to the distribution system. EPA set minimum reporting levels of 3 to 4 ng/L for PFOA, PFOS, PFNA and PFHxS and reports nothing below them. A result "below the 3 to 4 ng/L reporting limit" therefore means the lab could not quantify the compound, not that it is absent, and it is never shown here as zero.
What do the 0.5 ng/L benchmark and the 4.0 ng/L MCL mean, and why are both shown?
0.5 ng/L for the PFAS-4 sum (PFOA + PFOS + PFNA + PFHxS) is the health benchmark pfasnearme applies on every page, in Europe and the United States, built from the European Food Safety Authority's tolerable intake with stricter safety choices. 4.0 ng/L is the enforceable federal maximum contaminant level for PFOA and for PFOS individually under EPA's PFAS National Primary Drinking Water Regulation (NPDWR), the US legal limit. Any PFAS-4 compound quantified under UCMR 5 (at or above 3 to 4 ng/L) is above the benchmark, so the benchmark tells you whether anything was found and the MCL tells you whether the system would have to act. EPA set the maximum contaminant level goal (MCLG) for PFOA and PFOS at zero because there is no level without risk.
When does the 4.0 ng/L MCL apply, and could it change?
EPA published the PFAS National Primary Drinking Water Regulation (NPDWR) on April 26, 2024. Systems must finish initial monitoring by April 26, 2027, tell customers about PFAS in their 2027 Consumer Confidence Reports, and comply with the PFOA and PFOS MCLs from April 26, 2029. Two proposals published on May 20, 2026 are not final: one would let systems in states where EPA holds primacy extend PFOA and PFOS compliance to April 26, 2031; the other would rescind the PFHxS, PFNA, HFPO-DA MCLs and the Hazard Index while keeping PFOA and PFOS. The rule is also before the U.S. Court of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit (American Water Works Association v. EPA, argued 2026-09-18 before Judges Millett, Pillard and Wilkins; no decision). Regulation data retrieved September 19, 2026.
Does Pennsylvania have its own PFAS limits?
Yes. Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection (PA DEP), Bureau of Safe Drinking Water enforces MCLs under 25 Pa. Code Chapter 109 (PFAS MCL Rule): PFOA 14 ng/L (since January 14, 2023); PFOS 18 ng/L (since January 14, 2023). The federal PFOA and PFOS MCLs (4.0 ng/L) are stricter than every state MCL, so the federal line is about severity and the state line is about what is enforceable today. In this UCMR 5 sample, no compound was above a Pennsylvania MCL. State monitoring: initial monitoring 2024, quarterly compliance monitoring since 2024; statewide results summary xlsx refreshed semi-annually.
Is this the water that comes out of my tap in Fleetwood Boro Water System?
Only if Fleetwood Boro Water System (PWSID PA3060029) is your water system: check your water bill or your ZIP code page on this site, or the Berks County page. Samples are taken at the entry point to the distribution system, not at your tap. The system may have changed sources or installed treatment since this sample. PFAS treatment reported to EPA: not reported to EPA. The system's own Consumer Confidence Report, published every year, states what it measures today.
What can I do about PFAS in my water?
Ask Fleetwood Boro Water System for its latest PFAS results and its plan for the 2029 MCLs, read its Consumer Confidence Report (EPA's CCR finder, PWSID PA3060029), and if you want to lower PFAS at home, use a filter certified to NSF/ANSI 53 or 58 for PFOA and PFOS (reverse osmosis and activated carbon block filters; see the filter comparison linked on this page). Boiling water does not remove PFAS.
Are PFAS levels rising in Fleetwood Boro Water System's water?
No PFAS-4 compound was quantified in any of the 6 UCMR 5 sampling events since February 6, 2023; each result was below the 3 to 4 ng/L reporting limit.
Where does this data come from?
Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Fifth Unregulated Contaminant Monitoring Rule (UCMR 5), final dataset August 2026, retrieved 2026-09-19. Public domain. Results are entry-point samples and do not indicate compliance with drinking water standards. System registry from EPA SDWIS/ECHO (2026Q2 edition); service areas from EPA ORD (model code MIT); geography from the U.S. Census Bureau. pfasnearme retrieved the data on September 19, 2026.
Water systems in the same county
Other community water systems in Berks County covered by this site, largest first.
Nearby water systems
The community water systems closest to Fleetwood Boro Water System covered by this site, by service-area center.
Data source
- U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Fifth Unregulated Contaminant Monitoring Rule (UCMR 5) occurrence data, final dataset (August 2026)
- https://www.epa.gov/dwucmr/occurrence-data-unregulated-contaminant-monitoring-rule
- License
- Public domain (U.S. federal government work, 17 U.S.C. § 105)
- Retrieved
- September 19, 2026
- Entry points and samples
- Willow Rd Entry Point (WILLOW ROAD), Well 13 Sink Tap (WELL #13 SINK TAP), Well 15 Sink Tap (WELL #15 SINK TAP)
- UCMR 5 sample window
- February 6, 2023 to August 21, 2023; 3 entry points, 6 sampling events
- Source water
- groundwater; community water system (small, 10,000 people or fewer)
- PFAS treatment reported to EPA
- not reported to EPA. The system may have changed sources or installed treatment since this sample.
- Consumer Confidence Report
- Search EPA's CCR finder for PWSID PA3060029 to read the system's own annual report
- Regulation data (MCLs, dates) retrieved
- September 19, 2026
Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Fifth Unregulated Contaminant Monitoring Rule (UCMR 5), final dataset August 2026, retrieved 2026-09-19. Public domain. Results are entry-point samples and do not indicate compliance with drinking water standards.
System registry from EPA SDWIS/ECHO (2026Q2 edition); service areas from EPA ORD (model code MIT); geography from the U.S. Census Bureau.
UCMR 5 results do not indicate compliance or noncompliance with the PFAS drinking water standards. Samples are taken at the entry point to the distribution system, not at the tap; the system may have changed sources or installed treatment since. 3 entry points sampled, 6 sampling events between 2023-02-06 and 2023-08-21. The page's PFAS values come from the newest sample at Willow Rd Entry Point (WILLOW ROAD) (101/E), the entry point with the highest PFOA + PFOS + PFNA + PFHxS sum; the other entry points' maxima are listed as separate rows. Non-detects are shown as "<" followed by EPA's minimum reporting level (3 to 20 ng/L); PFAS-4 sums quantified compounds only, so it is a lower bound when a compound was not detected. Registry (name, population, counties, ZIPs) from EPA SDWIS/ECHO; service-area centroid from EPA ORD.
This site is a data project, not an official source. If in doubt, check with your water supplier or local authority.