PFAS in Utsjoki's tap water: sum of 20 PFAS reported as not detected
Last PFAS check: · Source: Ruokavirasto / Syke
PFAS in drinking water
sum of 20 PFAS reported as not detected
PFAS-4 not published here yet
More about this result
PFAS-4 is not published for this supply area
Sum of 20 PFAS reported as not detected (sampled 18 March 2026); the laboratory did not state its reporting limit.
Values from Karigasniemen vedenjakelualue, one of 3 supply areas serving Utsjoki; the others are in the table.
The four EFSA compounds (PFOA, PFOS, PFNA, PFHxS) are not reported separately, so the 4 ng/L health benchmark and this site's 0.5 ng/L benchmark cannot be checked.
PFAS-20 monitoring is mandatory since 12 January 2026; 158 of 287 municipalities have a published result so far.
The four main PFAS are not published here. Sign up below and we will tell you when they are.
Water report for Utsjoki
Tell me when a PFAS-4 value is published for Utsjoki. Until then, receive the free water report and new PFAS-20 results, at most once a week.
- Last PFAS test
- 18 March 2026
- Water supplier
- Inarin Lapin Vesi Oy
In Utsjoki, the latest published PFAS-20 result (sampled 18 March 2026) is reported as not detected; the laboratory did not state its reporting limit. The EU legal limit is 100 ng/L. The four EFSA compounds (PFAS-4) are not itemised, so this water cannot be compared with the 0.5 ng/L health benchmark used by pfasnearme. Source: Ruokavirasto (VATI) / Suomen ympäristökeskus Syke, Juomavesidirektiivi-rajapinta, CC BY 4.0, data retrieved 28 September 2026.
Details and sources
What the latest check found
The authorities have not published an overall verdict for this water.
See all 17 test results
| What was tested | Value | Limit | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nitrite | <0.01 mg/L | ≤ 0.5 mg/L | within the limit |
| Lead | 0.36 µg/L | ≤ 10 µg/L | within the limit |
| Copper | 0.49 mg/L | ≤ 2 mg/L | within the limit |
| Nickel | 0.49 µg/L | ≤ 20 µg/L | within the limit |
| Uranium | 0.39 µg/L | ≤ 30 µg/L | within the limit |
| Escherichia coli | 0 n/(100mL) | ≤ 0 n/(100mL) | within the limit |
| Enterococci | 0 n/(100mL) | ≤ 0 n/(100mL) | within the limit |
| Coliform bacteria | 0 n/(100mL) | ≤ 0 n/(100mL) | within the limit |
| pH | 7 | 6.5–9.5 pH | within the limit |
| Water hardness | 0.14 mmol/L | no limit | for reference |
| Electrical conductivity | 190 µS/cm | ≤ 2,500 µS/cm | within the limit |
| Chloride | 3 mg/L | ≤ 250 mg/L | within the limit |
| Sulphate | 1.1 mg/L | ≤ 250 mg/L | within the limit |
| Iron | 26 µg/L | ≤ 200 µg/L | within the limit |
| Manganese | 1.2 µg/L | ≤ 50 µg/L | within the limit |
| Aluminium | 46 µg/L | ≤ 200 µg/L | within the limit |
| Calcium | 3.6 mg/L | no limit | for reference |
Frequently asked questions
Is tap water in Utsjoki safe to drink?
All the values shown here (13 August 2026) are within the legal limits, but the authorities have not published an overall verdict for this water. The four EFSA compounds (PFAS-4) are not itemised, so this water cannot be compared with the 0.5 ng/L health benchmark used by pfasnearme.
How high are PFAS levels in Utsjoki's drinking water?
At the latest check the total of 20 PFAS ("forever chemicals") was reported as not detected; the laboratory did not state its reporting limit. The EU limit is 100 ng/L. (below the EU limit)
Which PFAS limits apply in Finland?
Finland applies decree STM 1352/2015 of the Ministry of Social Affairs and Health as amended by 2/2023: "PFAS-aineiden summa" (sum of 20 PFAS) at most 0.10 µg/l, that is 100 ng/L, applied from 12 January 2026. There is no national PFAS-4 limit; Sweden applies 4 ng/L. This site's 0.5 ng/L benchmark is stricter than both.
How hard is the water in Utsjoki?
The water hardness in Utsjoki is 0.1 mmol/L (soft). This mainly matters for household appliances and detergent dosing, not for health.
Where does this data come from?
All values come from official publications: Ruokavirasto (VATI) / Suomen ympäristökeskus Syke, Juomavesidirektiivi-rajapinta. Retrieved on 28 September 2026.
Nearby cities
The closest to Utsjoki on this site.
Data source
- Ruokavirasto (VATI) / Suomen ympäristökeskus Syke, Juomavesidirektiivi-rajapinta
- https://rajapinnat.ymparisto.fi/api/juomavesidirektiivi-vati/swagger/v1/swagger.json
- License
- CC BY 4.0
- Retrieved
- 28 September 2026
- Supply networks
- Utsjoen vedenjakelualue, Nuorgamin vedenjakelualue, Karigasniemen vedenjakelualue
Lähde: Ruokavirasto (VATI) / Suomen ympäristökeskus Syke, Juomavesidirektiivi-rajapinta, CC BY 4.0, haettu 2026-09-28. Kunnassa on 3 vedenjakelualuetta VATI-rekisterissä; kaikki on lueteltu sivulla. Sivun PFAS-luku on alueelta "Karigasniemen vedenjakelualue" (uusin PFAS-tulos kunnan 1 PFAS-tuloksesta); muut alueet ovat taulukossa. PFAS-yhdisteiden summan (20 yhdistettä) raja-arvo on 0,10 µg/l (STM 1352/2015, muutos 2/2023, sovellettu 12.1.2026 alkaen). Neljän EFSA-yhdisteen summaa (PFAS-4) ei julkaista. Tulos "0" tai "Ei todettu" tarkoittaa, ettei PFAS-yhdisteitä havaittu; laboratorio ei ilmoittanut määritysrajaa. Rajapinta julkaisee kunkin muuttujan uusimman tuloksen; taulukon arvo on korkein kunnan alueilta viimeisten 24 kuukauden aikana julkaistu tulos (vanhempi tulos vain, jos uudempaa ei ole), alue on merkitty riville.
This site is a data project, not an official source. If in doubt, check with your water supplier or local authority.